Mi Familia Mexican Restaurant and Mini Mart (Formerly Laura’s Super Tortas and Tortas Del Sol)

30 Oct

8-15-13 UPDATE: This restaurant is now called Mi Familia and hopefully still serves good food

6-14-13 UPDATE: This restaurant has changed its name again, but still appears to be a Mexican food establishment. I have not had a chance to visit yet.

*Since the posting of this blog Laura’s has been bought out and the name changed to Tortas Del Sol. I have not visited yet, but I am told that the menu has remained the same.

“It’s right next to the plasma bank on East Central” Those are the directions I gave my friend in order to locate Laura’s Super Tortas. This is a great dive located just to the east of Cleveland and Central. When you are located next to a plasma center and have bars on the doors and windows you know that the place has good food. I think the bars are there to keep Torta junkies from tossing a trash can through the window at 2 in the morning to get their torta fix. On this particular day I was not able to convince my friend to try Thai food, so we fell back on option two or should I say option torta.

There are two Laura’s in town and at this particular location the restaurant is rather small and combined with a small store the specializes in Hispanic food items. I have been to Laura’s several times now and each time I never know whats going to happen as far as the chips are concerned. Sometimes you get them and sometimes you don’t. On the occasion I was lucky enough to get the chips and salsa they were pretty good, so I don’t know what the deal is. To balance out the absence of chips they do serve Mexican Coke, which is made with sugar cane instead of corn syrup and in my opinion is much better than the USA stuff. But don’t tell the corn syrup lobby about that comment, I can only imagine them coming to my door like the Jehovah Witnesses like to do. Anyway when you’re at this place you must order a torta, which is basically a Mexican sandwich. They do serve other typical Mexican dishes, which my friend indulged in, but the tortas are too good to pass up. This time I had the Victoria torta, which comes with sliced pork, ham, a slice of queso blanco cheese, mayo, guacamole, lettuce, jalapeno, and tomato all on a homemade toasted bun. Hmm lets see here, two kinds of piggy meat, cheese, guac, and mayo. Ummmm yeah, I think I’ll take one of those. Throw in a side of rice and beans and you won’t have to eat for 12 hours. Like always the Torta Victoria was bangin’ and if you like it a bit hotter they do bring out some salsa verde to throw down on it. I think my friend was satisfied with the outcome of his meal, although he was a bit suspicious of the atmosphere and surroundings.

If you go to Laura’s you must remember you are going there for the food and not the ambiance or the fact that they use knorks (Laura’s actually serves you nice pre-packaged plasticware). So if you are looking for a cheap place to get some good lunchtime grub check them out and when you are done go next door and sell some plasma. And if they ask you whether you have done any drugs or alcohol recently just say, “No, but I did just eat a torta.”

2 Responses to “Mi Familia Mexican Restaurant and Mini Mart (Formerly Laura’s Super Tortas and Tortas Del Sol)”

  1. Kat Pentecost August 12, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    I have never had tortas but have been curious about them. I will go to this dive solely based on the review. I was laughing and my mouth was watering by the time I finished reading it! Great review :)

    • chainfreeeating August 13, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

      I think this place has actually changed hands again, but they should still have a good torta

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

