Imbiss Grille- Wichita KS(Authentic Food From das Vaterland) (CLOSED)

12 Mar

So how many people out there know that Wichita has a pretty authentic German restaurant hiding amidst the decadence and depravity of Old Town Square? I’m not just talking about some bierocks and bratwurst, but spaetzle, potato pancakes, and schnitzel. Imbiss Grille, located just a few doors down from Hanna Cafe, is the place bringing all that delicious food to Wichita. I had the pleasure of introducing my mother to Imbiss the other day. We basically had the place to ourselves, which is a little concerning since it was 1230 on a weekday. I hope everyday is not that slow or they may be in trouble. The inside of the place is clean with subtle German decor throughout. Just in case the decor isn’t enough for you to get your German on they had some tunes playing. The good news is there was no polka music, but the bad news was there was German pop music playing. Now I enjoy “99 Luftballons” just as much as anybody, but there is something frantic about German pop that scares the hell out of me. If only I knew what they were talking about.

The menu at Imbiss is rather comprehensive and ranges from salads to sandwiches, entrees, assorted sausages, and dessert. My mom was determined to order the Reuben sandwich so there was no stopping her. For her side dish she went with the potato pancakes. If you have never had a potato pancake you are missing out on some beautiful fried goodness. I was looking to try something new at Imbiss so I went with a slow roasted pork dish called Gefulltes Schwein Kottlet. Loosely translated it means “badass pork loin”. I typically have an uncontrollable fear of ordering pork loins and chops in restaurants due to the fact that they are always overcooked. Pork gets a bad rap as being dry because people typically cook the hell out of it. This makes me very sad:( Pork should be cooked to an internal temp between 150 and 160 and much to my surprise Imbiss understands this. My piece of pork loin was wonderfully moist and stuffed with dried raisins, apples, and pecans, then finished with a brown gravy. It was a dish that I would definitely order again. For my sides I went with the spaetzle and potato pancakes. The spaetzle was very good when coupled with brown gravy and the apple sauce they served us went very well with the potato pancakes.

My mom and I both left Imbiss with full tummys and internal happiness that such a place exists in Wichita. If you are looking for some good hearty food I suggest you try this place out. The expanse of their menu allows you to be as adventurous as you would like, yet you can always opt for a traditional sandwich or salad.¬† In my opinion Imbiss is probably one of Wichita’s best kept restaurant secrets and well deserving of the patronage of everyone who likes good food.

Imbiss Grille on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Imbiss Grille- Wichita KS(Authentic Food From das Vaterland) (CLOSED)”

  1. Jane March 12, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    I am not sure what it means but I must have been so involved in our conversation that I blocked out the background music! I would go back to dine at Imbiss anytime regardless of the German pop music.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hana Cafe-Wichita KS « Chain Free Eating-Wichita, KS - August 13, 2011

    [...] in Old Town Square which happens to be a great place for chain free restaurants. You have Hana, Imbiss, Sabor, Caffe Moderne, and Lucca all in one convenient  location. This was our first time visiting [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

