Riverside Cafe-Wichita KS

19 Apr

This past weekend Phil and I were driving all over town picking out tile when I decided we needed  lunch. We first took a detour to Juarez bakery which was an exciting event. I will have to post a second blog on that later. However, as much fun as Juarez was, we realized it was best for dessert and not lunch. So we made our way to Riverside Cafe. I have driven by this restaurant more times than I can count and have always wanted to try it out. True to its name, Riverside Cafe is located next to the Little Arkansas River at 13th and Bitting. When you go in, the place feels like going back in time to a 50s diner. I am fairly certain that the soda bar is original to the building. It has a great classic feel along with a rooster themed decor. They are known for serving breakfast all day, but Phil and I were in the mood for sandwiches, although you can order just about any traditional diner fare you can think of as their menu is rather expansive.

Phil’s family has introduced me to the deliciousness that is corned beef through their celebration of St. Patrick’s Day. Because of this, I decided to order a Reuben sandwich. Who knew that a Reuben sandwich could be so tasty with thousand island dressing and sauerkraut? Apparently lots of people, but I was not one of them. The sandwich was wonderful with a great amount of corned beef and some nice and crispy tater tots on the side. A sandwich, tater tots, and a side of grease all equal great diner food. Phil ordered the pork tender sandwich. I was afraid that it would come out dry and fried to a crisp, but it sounded too good to pass up. To my delight it was perfectly fried and the pork was still tender. It came with mayo, lettuce, onion, and tomato on the side, but I think it needed a slice of cheese to jazz it up a bit. While not as good as Timbuktu’s pork tender sandwich, I would still recommend you give this one a go. My cottage fries were not that great and I would recommend going with the tots.

They also had a rather impressive selection of homemade pies that were very hard to pass up.

Overall we enjoyed our experience and I am looking forward to dragging some school friends to the south Woodlawn location on an in-service day.

Riverside Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 986 other followers

