Pho Hien

28 Dec

There is nothing like a big bowl of steaming Pho to take the chill off on a winter’s day. Thankfully Wichita is blessed with a bevy a places that you can get a good authentic bowl of this delicious Vietnamese soup.

Our destination this day was  Pho Hien, located at Broadway and 17th St. On a side note, this particular stretch of Broadway is a “Murder’s Row” of great local places to check out, there is everything from a classic steak joint, to Mexican food trucks, to great Vietnamese and Asian venues.

Wonderful Pho with Garnishes

Pho-king Amazing Pho

Pho Hien has a large and open dining room with plenty of seating for busy lunch time crowds. The menu consists of Pho, Pho, and more Pho. For those of you unfamiliar, Pho is a broth based Vietnamese rice noodle soup that features a protein(typically beef of some sort), onion, and garnishes of bean sprouts, basil, lime wedges, jalapeño,  hoisin, and hot sauce. There are several different variations of meat offered with the Pho. You can choose between thinly sliced steak, brisket, tendon, tripe, as well as pork balls, and some seafood variations. Feeling a bit bold I ordered my Pho with tendon, tripe, and thinly sliced steak. Looking around I noticed that some of the bowls coming out appeared to be about the size of a 10 gallon aquarium, so I wisely went with a medium/regular bowl. Less than 5 minutes after our order was placed we had good sized bowls of steaming Pho sitting at our table.

Our service was so fast that the thinly sliced steak was still medium rare in the middle as it came to the table. The meat was tender and unlike some Pho places, had its excess fat trimmed off. Due to some nice slow braising the tendon and tripe were both tender and did not require much chewing. The Pho broth had a wonderfully rich and complex flavor. With a little Hoisin and Sriracha it was some of the best I have had in Wichita.

If you are in the mood for some authentic Pho look for further than Pho Hien. Their high quality food is Pho-king delicious (its funny if you know how to pronounce Pho)  and at $7 for a medium bowl is a solid value as well. Make sure you bring some cold hard cash though, because none of that plastic stuff is taken here.

Pho Hien Noodle Soup Co on Urbanspoon

8 Responses to “Pho Hien”

  1. Dwight December 28, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Good job. You hit this nail on the head. Always an excellent place for pho. I would always go there to satisfy my frequent pho cravings if there were not at least four good choices between 17th St and 9th St. Pho Hein, Minh Hoa, Saigon, and Little Saigon are all worthy.

  2. Veronica December 29, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    I will add this to my places to try! I returned to My Tho after a long hiatus when you reminded me of the place with your review and I just adore their broth (it’s pho-reaking delicious), but not the meat so much (tough and hate the fat). If you remember My Tho’s broth, how does this broth compare? I’ve only tried one other place for pho (Pho Special) and hated their broth, it made me so sad.

    • chainfreeeating December 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      The last time I had My Tho the brisket was a fatty as well. I would have to say that I liked Pho Hien’s broth a bit better than My Tho.

      • Veronica December 31, 2012 at 1:25 am #

        Oh wow I have to go then! Better meat and broth–I’m in!

  3. Mere December 29, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    The comment made me laugh about knowing how to pronounce Pho.

  4. Veronica April 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    Finally tried it out! Just got back from a delicious lunch at Pho Hien (my husband says they have some pho-hien good pho. lol). We both got just the steak and you’re so right about how good the meat is–so tender and no fat! Loved that. I do like the My Tho broth better b/c it has a little sweetness to it that I missed but I did really like the Pho Hien pho best overall. We will definitely return!

    • chainfreeeating April 28, 2013 at 12:33 am #

      Hey glad you tried out Pho Hien! I need to go back to try out some other varieties.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saigon Pho | Chain Free Eating In Wichita - March 1, 2014

    […] the broth for a nice presentation. I would rank this version of Pho right up there with My Tho and Pho Hien, two of my favorites. The wonton soup was also a delicious meal. The broth was similar to that of […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 921 other followers

